Using WordPress Again

Well, it’s been almost an entire year since I started using Vox (see my vox website). I’ve come to the conclusion that it is absolutely fantastic for

  • having easy-to-use privacy settings
  • getting relatives started in the whole blogging thing who haven’t necessarily done anything similar before.

However, there were some major drawbacks:

  • it didn’t have much of the nerdy, geeky functionality that I want
  • wasn’t as customizable as I wanted
  • is a bit slow
  • no stats!
  • no easy-to-download backups

How I used it was this: all work-related posts were marked completely public, while any other posts and photos were marked as friends & family only. This essentially allowed me to have two blogs in one site: one where I can say inane things that my family & friends may choose to read or ignore, as they see fit, and a second “professional” site where I try to be a little more structured. I am still using it now for both of these reasons, and wouldn’t have even bothered posting again on this almost-anniversary on WordPress (even though in most other ways, WordPress is a better blog system) if it hadn’t been for ResearchBlogging.org. I wanted to post my take on various peer-reviewed journal articles I was interested in, but when I tried to do it on Vox, ResearchBlogging.org’s scavenger/indexer simply couldn’t handle how Vox deals with embedded HTML.

So, even though I don’t wish to separate out my content onto two blogs, for now I have no choice but to put all of my posts marked with the BPR logo on WordPress, while everything else remains on Vox. Not ideal, and very shortly I may make this my exclusive work blog, with the other being my personal blog.

I hope the posts that follow on this website are up to the effort I’ve put in to get them visible to the ResearchBlogging aggregator. But please remember that you can still look at all my other public posts on http://lurena.vox.com.

Leave a Reply

