Home > Housekeeping & Self References, Outreach, Science Online > How can socks facilitate scientific outreach?

How can socks facilitate scientific outreach?

OK, it seems odd, at least on the surface. How can socks help science generally, and science outreach specifically? I asked myself the same question a few months ago when I found an email lurking in my inbox, hidden since just before my maternity leave started. It seems a sock company called Sock It To Me socks featured a different Cool Girl each month, and they wished to feature me. I had a lot of questions. Was this for real? Was it an appropriate platform to be talking about myself, and about what I do? Would it seem as if I was trading my online work persona for socks?

Well, the other Cool Girls’ profiles seemed eclectic and interesting: dancers, astrophysicists, mathematicians and many others. So, not bad company to be in, and it was a genuine request. And, before you ask, I will be getting two pairs of socks for my efforts – ah, temptation. But ultimately, I need to take care of my work/public online persona, and I had to decide whether this was a good addition. But then I realized I could talk about ontologies to people who may have never even heard of bioinformatics and, for me, that was too exciting an opportunity to miss. True, it was limited to 600 words, and a writer used the information I gave her to write the final piece, but I think it was all worth it. She did a great job, and within the confines of the article format, I’m happy about how my field of research is portrayed. I really feel strongly about science outreach, and I do think that novel methods of information dissemination shouldn’t necessarily be ruled out.

So, here it is: Ms Cool Girl of the Month, July 2011. What do you think? Did I benefit science or just myself (well, maybe not just myself – I namechecked my high school biology teacher, and mentioned Cameron too)?

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.
You must be logged in to post a comment.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers

